Top 10 Universities in the Philippines (2008)

Posted by Wicked Sago | Posted in | Posted on 4:50 PM

The following is a list of top ten Philippine universities based on number of academic disciplines per university designated as a center of excellence (COE) and a center of development (COD) of a particular discipline. Note that disciplines are disparate among universities, each university having different program or curricular offerings and organizational structures. Some COE or COD status awards are given to either academic departments, or to individual academic degree programs. Some programs are only offered by certain universities and are not offered by others, which may account for the differences in figures.

10. Saint Louis University (10 COD/COE)

This university is regarded as one of the Philippines' respected and leading educational institutions that has grown with the demands of the current and future environments for its students and faculty alike.

9. Xavier University (10 COD/COE)

The University operates as a non-profit non-stock educational institution governed by its own board of trustees. Mr. Meneleo J. Carlos Jr., President of Resins, Inc., is Chairman and Mr. Gonzalo Go is Vice Chairman. Fr. Antonio S. Samson S.J. became President of Xavier University on 06 June 1993. One of five Jesuit colleges and universities in the Philippines, XU works in consortium with Ateneo de Davao University and the Ateneo de Zamboanga.

8. University of San Carlos (10 COD/COE)

One of the top universities outside Manila, the University of San Carlos enjoys an environment free from the hustle and bustle that often distracts students in the capital. But the difference stops there.

As the business and tourist hub of Southern Philippines, Metro Cebu provides Carolinians (as USC students are called) with a cosmopolitan setting where malls are just a few minutes away from the beaches, heritage towns, or mountain resorts.

With its four campuses housing all levels of educational programs that include eight colleges and 27 departments, USC is truly a “universe-city” in its own right. International linkages now External Affairs and a steady influx of foreign students and visiting professors have made USC a multicultural academic community bonded by the common pursuit for global standards.

7. MSU-Iligan Institute of Technology (11 COD/COE)

The Mindan ao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology (MSU-IIT) is an external unit and one of the ten campuses of the Mindanao State University System. Established on July 12, 1968 as provided for by Republic Act (RA) 5363, the institute has continually provided quality education to thousands of students from almost everywhere in the Philippines.

6. Adamson University (11 COD/COE)

Adamson University has endured the tests of history, first as a Greek-run school and then as a Catholic and Vincentian institution. It has emerged academically richer and stronger, accumulating layers of knowledge and experience that sustain its mission to provide education—the kind that meets stringent standards of quality yet affordable to those who have less. Now beyond its Diamond Jubilee, it confidently and ably plays its role as an agent of personal as well as social transformation.

5. Ateneo de Manila University (13 COD/COE)

To understand the soul of the Ateneo de Manila University -- what shaped it and where it came from, where it is going and where it can take you -- it is essential to understand its motto, Lux in Domino, or "Light in the Lord."

From the letter of St. Paul to the Ephesians (5:8), these words capture the spirit of a way of life which the Ateneo holds up to her sons and daughters as their best contribution to the work by which God transforms the world. To be "light in the Lord" in all fullness demands moving insistently and deliberately towards God as the center of a person's life, identifying the issues that such a centering poses, and then moving out to the world to find ever new ways of constructing the edifice, cultivating the garden, painting the masterpiece, that God is unfolding in one's life.

4. University of Santo Tomas (16 COD/COE)

The University of Santo Tomas is the oldest existing university in Asia and in terms of student population, the largest Catholic university in the world located in one campus.

It was founded on April 28, 1611 by the third Archbishop of Manila, Msgr. Miguel de Benavides, O.P., together with Frs. Domingo de Nieva and Bernardo de Santa Catalina. It was originally conceived as a school to prepare young men for the priesthood.

3. University of the Philippines, Los BaƱos (16 COD/COE)

The university offers over a hundred degree programs ranging from communication arts to genetics through its nine colleges and two schools. The Philippines' Commission on Higher Education has accredited nine programs as Centers of Excellence and two as Centers of Development. Six research institutes were also recognized as Centers of Excellence by the President of the Philippines.

While alumni from UPLB have been recognized in a wide range of fields, most of them tend to specialize in the natural sciences. Notable alumni include 15 of 31 national scientists, four Nobel Prize co-winners,all five Filipino fellows of the Third World Academy of Sciences,at least 30 academicians of the National Academy of Science and Technology and several Palanca Award winners.

2. De la Salle University - Manila (16 COD/COE)

De La Salle University occupies a 5.04 hectare lot along busy Taft Avenue in Manila. It is about four kilometers away from Manila's City Hall and is easily accessible by public transportation. Along this kilometer radius are situated other colleges and universities, a sports center complex, the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas, the Cultural Center of the Philippines complex, a row of four-and-five-star hotels, restaurants, shopping and entertainment centers, as well as main feeder roads. The rest of Metropolitan Manila and its environs are easily accessible by private or public transportation

1. University of the Philippines, Diliman (33 COD/COE)

UP Diliman is the flagship university of the UP System. It is the administrative seat of the system as well as an autonomous university in its own right. UP Diliman is not only the home of diverse colleges, offering 94 graduate and undergraduate courses, it also runs several centers of research, many of which have been declared by the Commission on Higher Education as National Centers of Excellence.

Comments (0)

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails